Before We Were Yours

The Book: Before We Were Yours, by Lisa Wingate The Blurb: Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale. The Blabber: I’m not a huge fan of the saccharine or sentimental. Nor is romance, for…

Abandon

The Book: Abandon, by Blake Crouch The Blurb: On Christmas Day in 1893, every man, woman, and child in a remote gold-mining town disappeared, belongings forsaken, meals left to freeze in vacant cabins—and not a single bone was ever found. One hundred sixteen years later, two back country guides are hired by a history professor and his…

Ben Hur: A Tale of the Christ

The Book: Ben Hur: A Tale of the Christ, by Lew Wallace The Blurb: This faithful New Testament tale combines the events of the life of Jesus with grand historical spectacle in the exciting story of Judah of the House of Hur, a man who finds extraordinary redemption for himself and his family.A classic of faith, fortitude,…