Before We Were Yours

The Book: Before We Were Yours, by Lisa Wingate The Blurb: Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale. The Blabber: I’m not a huge fan of the saccharine or sentimental. Nor is romance, for…

Burial Rites

The Book: Burial Rites, by Hannah Kent The Blurb: Set against Iceland’s stark landscape, Hannah Kent brings to vivid life the story of Agnes, who, charged with the brutal murder of her former master, is sent to an isolated farm to await execution. Horrified at the prospect of housing a convicted murderer, the family at…

Delilah: Dangerous Beauty #3

The Book: Delilah, by Angela Elwell Hunt The Blurb: Life is not easy in Philistia, especially not for a woman and child alone. When beautiful, wounded Delilah finds herself begging for food to survive, she resolves that she will find a way to defeat all the men who have taken advantage of her. She will…

The Plague of Doves

The Book: The Plague of Doves, by Louise Erdrich The Blurb: The unsolved murder of a farm family still haunts the white small town of Pluto, North Dakota, generations after the vengeance exacted and the distortions of fact transformed the lives of Ojibwe living on the nearby reservation. Part Ojibwe, part white, Evelina Harp is…

Empire of Gold: Foundations

The Book: Empire of Gold: Foundations, by Jo Amdahl The Blurb: Empire of Gold: Foundations sets the stage for the first worldwide conflict in history. It details the formation of the Prophet Jeremiah and the rise of the Neo-Babylonian Empire. Inspired by author Jo Amdahl’s studies on Daniel, this series of historical novels features some…

Lilac Girls

The Book: Lilac Girls, by Martha Hall Kelly The Blurb: New York socialite Caroline Ferriday has her hands full with her post at the French consulate and a new love on the horizon. But Caroline’s world is forever changed when Hitler’s army invades Poland in September 1939—and then sets its sights on France. An ocean…

The Taming of the Queen: The Tudor Court #5

The Book: The Taming of the Queen, by Philippa Gregory The Blurb: Why would a woman marry a serial killer? Because she cannot refuse… Kateryn Parr, a thirty-year-old widow in a secret affair with a new lover, has no choice when a man old enough to be her father who has buried four wives –…

Broken Ground

The Book: Broken Ground, by Karen Halverson Schreck The Blurb: Newly married to her childhood sweetheart, twenty-one-year-old Ruth Warren is settling into life in a Depression-era, East Texas oil town. She’s making a home when she learns that her young husband, Charlie, has been killed in an oil rig accident. Ruth is devastated, but then…

An Undistrubed Peace

The Book: An Undisturbed Peace, by Mary Glickman The Blurb: Abrahan Bento Sassaporta Naggar has traveled to America from the filthy, Jew-hating streets of East London in search of a better life. But Abe’s visions of a privileged apprenticeship in the Sassaporta Brothers’ empire based in Savannah, Georgia, are soon replaced with the grim reality…

A Reunion of Ghosts

The Book: A Reunion of Ghosts, by Judith Claire Mitchell The Blurb: In the waning days of 1999, the Alter sisters—Lady, Vee, and Delph—finalize their plans to end their lives. Their reasons are not theirs alone; they are the last in a long line of Alters who have killed themselves, beginning with their great-grandmother, the…

Work Like Any Other

The Book: Work Like Any Other, by Virginia Reeves The Blurb: Roscoe T Martin set his sights on a new type of power spreading at the start of the twentieth century: electricity. It became his training, his life’s work. But when his wife, Marie, inherits her father’s failing farm, Roscoe has to give up his…

The Photographer’s Wife

The Book: The Photograper’s Wife, by Suzanne Joinson The Blurb: In 1920s Jerusalem, eleven-year-old Prudence watches her architect father launch an ambitious (and crazy) plan to redesign the Holy City by importing English parks to the desert. He employs a British pilot, William Harrington, to take aerial photographs of the city, and soon Prue becomes…